Skip to Main Content
Contact Us Search
OHP Title

State Historical Resources Commission

The State Historical Resources Commission (SHRC) is a nine-member state review board, appointed by the Governor, with responsibilities for the identification, registration, and preservation of California's cultural heritage. Five members of the SHRC shall be recognized professionals in the disciplines of history, pre-historic archaeology, historical archaeology, architectural history, and restoration architecture. One member shall be knowledgeable in ethnic history; one member shall be knowledgeable in Folklife; and two members shall represent the public or possess expertise in fields that the Governor deems necessary or desirable to enable the Commission to carry out its responsibilities. The State Historic Preservation Officer (SHPO) serves as Executive Secretary to the SHRC. The SHRC meets four times per year and welcomes public attendance and participation. 

Meeting Schedule and Notices  
Meeting Minutes 
Pending Nominations


(Awaiting appointment by the Governor)

Bryan K. Brandes
Bryan K. Brandes
Public Member
Temple City
Term expires December 2014

Alberto Bertoli, AIA
Alberto Bertoli, AIA
San Francisco
Term expires December 2014

Elizabeth Edwards Harris
Elizabeth Edwards Harris
Architectural History
Los Angeles
Term expires March 2017

Marshall McKay
Marshall McKay
Term expires March 2017

rick moss
Rick Moss
Ethnic History
Term expries March 2017

David Phoenix
David Phoenix
Public Member
Los Angeles
Term expires December 2014

Adrian Praetzellis, PhD
Adrian Praetzellis, Ph.D.
Prehistoric Archaeology
Santa Rosa
Term expires March 2017