The State Historical Resources Commission has designed this program for use by state and local agencies, private groups and citizens to identify, evaluate, register and protect California's historical resources. The Register is the authoritative guide to the state's significant historical and archeological resources.
The California Register program encourages public recognition and protection of resources of architectural, historical, archeological and cultural significance, identifies historical resources for state and local planning purposes, determines eligibility for state historic preservation grant funding and affords certain protections under the California Environmental Quality Act.
Criteria for Designation
Effects of Designation
Owner may place his or her own plaque or marker at the site of the resource.
Procedures for Registration
1. Download the Nomination Packet. Only use the DPR 523 Forms that are applicable to the nominated resource. If you need assistance contact OHP.
2. Complete application, including all necessary supplemental forms, according to instructions.
3. Notify the clerk of the local government in whose jurisdiction the resource is located by certified mail that an application will be filed with OHP and request that the local government provide written comments within 90 days. The notification must include a copy of the application.
4. At the end of the 90 days, the applicant forwards the completed application and any comments to OHP.
5. Within 30 days, OHP staff will ensure that the application is complete and will send notification to the property owner (if the applicant is not the property owner).
6. Applications will be reviewed by OHP. Those that are inadequate or are not prepared in accordance with the instructions in TAS #7 will be returned to applicant for further work.
7. OHP notifies all applicants, property owners and appropriate governmental jurisdictions of the time and place of the SHRC meeting.
8. If approved by the SHRC, the resource is listed on the California Register.
Consent of owner is not required, but a resource cannot be listed over an owner’s objections. The SHRC can, however, formally determine a property eligible for the California Register if the resource owner objects.
Local Government Notification
Local government must be given 90 days in which to comment on the application before it is sent to OHP.
Registration Unit Staff
Bulletin 7: How to Nominate Properties to the California Register
Please contact the Registration Unit for more complete instructions on how to complete a California Register nomination.
DPR 523 Forms (Microsoft Word)
DPR 523A Primary Record
DPR 523B Building, Structure, Object Record
DPR 523 Forms are in Microsoft Word format. Please contact Registration Unit staff for other DPR 523 series forms.
Note: These forms are in WORD format and may be difficult to read on the screen as is. Copy and save to a Word file and increase the View to at least 150%. Because the fields are not fixed, select Overtype mode to better maintain the formatting.