The Governor's Historic Preservation Awards Program

Gov Awds logoEstablished in 1986, the Governor's Historic Preservation Awards are presented annually under the sponsorship of the California Office of Historic Preservation (OHP) and California State Parks to projects, individuals, and organizations whose contributions demonstrate significant achievements in preserving the heritage of California.  

Awards Background & Criteria

2019 Governor's Historic Preservation Awards

The deadline has passed and nominations are now closed for the 2019 Governor's Historic Preservation Awards. Check back on this page for the posting of the 2019 award recipients. In the meantime, we invite you to visit our Past Award Recipients page and learn about previous years' recipients and the many exemplary ways that California's heritage is being preserved!  Nomination forms for the 2020 awards will be posted to this page later this year.

Ceremony and Reception Donors

The annual ceremony and reception honoring the Governor's Awards recipients is made possible each year through the generosity of our donors. Interested in being a donor for the 2019 Awards ceremony? Please contact: Jenan Saunders, Deputy SHPO, at, or (916) 445-7000.

Visit our Donors page for details about the following 2018 sponsors:  

  • California Preservation Foundation
  • Save Our Heritage Organisation
  • Society for California Archaeology