CHAPEL OF SAN RAMON
This redwood frame chapel, erected in 1875 by Frederick and Ramona Foxen Wickenden, illustrates the transition between the architecture of the old missions and the frame churches of the American settlers. It is a unique example of the use of wood to create strong, simple forms that had formerly been executed in adobe.
Registration Date: 1/13/1975
City: Santa Maria
County: Santa Barbara
SW corner of Tepusquet and Foxen Canyon Rds, 15 mi SE of Santa Maria
Back Return to Listed Resources Listing