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Introduction 
 
To date, thirty-one states in the country have adopted laws creating credits against state taxes to provide incentives 
for the appropriate rehabilitation of historic buildings. In most cases these tax credits take the form of the very 
successful federal income tax credit for historic rehabilitation contained in Section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code.  
 
Although the tax credits vary from state to state, most programs include the following 
basic elements: 
 

• Criteria establishing what buildings qualify for the credit. 
• Standards to ensure that the rehabilitation preserves the historic and 

architectural character of the building. 
• A method for calculating the value of the credit awarded, reflected as a 

percentage of the amount expended on that portion of the rehabilitation work 
that is approved as a certified rehabilitation. 

• A minimum amount, or threshold, required to be invested in the rehabilitation. 
• A mechanism for administering the program, generally involving the state historic preservation office and, in 

some cases, the state department of revenue or the state department of economic development. 
 

Why Do Some State Tax Credits Work Better Than Others? 
 
Not all state tax credit programs are created equal. Some state programs have been extraordinarily productive in 
stimulating rehabilitation activity. Many others have produced mixed or minimal results. 
 
What causes these programs to fall short? In general, two factors greatly influence the effectiveness of the state 
historic tax credits: a limit or cap on the amount of credit and a lack of transferability. 
 
Annual Aggregate Caps 

 
A well-thought-out and skillfully drafted tax incentive for historic preservation cannot achieve its objectives if the total 
amount of credits that can be awarded annually is subject to a statutory limit, particularly if the limit is fixed at a low 
figure. For example, Kentucky has a 20% credit for commercial buildings and a 30% credit for owner-occupied 
residences, but only a $5 million annual cap. 
 
Indiana has annual aggregate caps of just $450,000 for commercial projects and $250,000 for residential projects. 
Even if the annual limit is relatively high, the very act of imposing a cap alters the nature of the program and can 
produce a perverse result, rewarding projects that do not require an incentive while excluding projects that cannot 
proceed without the state incentive. 
 
Where demand for credits exceeds the amount permitted by law, applicants either must compete for credits or 
participate in a lottery or other arbitrary allocation system. Projects that truly require the state credit to be financially 
feasible have tended to be discouraged from participating because of the lack of certainty as to the outcome, the 
cost of preparing a competitive application that nonetheless may be unsuccessful, and the difficulties of keeping 
financing commitments in place during the evaluation process. 
 

  



 

 

Important Definitions 

Carry Back — the ability to apply current tax 
credits against state income taxes due in 
preceding years. 

Carry Forward — the ability to apply current 
tax credits against taxes due in future years. 

CLG (Certified Local Government) — a local 
government certified by the state historic 
preservation officer as having the capacity to 
administer historic preservation programs, 
including grants under the National Historic 
Preservation Act. 

Disproportionate Allocation — a mechanism 
involving the use of pass-through entities by 
which a state tax credit can be allocated to a 
taxpayer within the state in which the project is 
located, while the federal tax credit for the 
same project is allocated to an out-of-state 
person or entity. 

Freely Transferable — the ability to make an 
outright transfer or assignment of the tax credit 
to another person or entity. 

Secretary of the Interior’s Standard for 
Rehabilitation (DOI) — general standards 
adopted by the Department of the Interior 
governing the rehabilitation of historic buildings. 
Rehabilitation must be carried out in 
accordance with these standards to qualify for 
federal rehabilitation tax credits for historic 
buildings as well as for many state tax 
incentives or financing programs. 

Recapture Period — period of time during 
which specified action, such as a change in 
ownership of the property, will trigger an 
obligation to pay back a ratable portion of the 
tax credit previously claimed. 

Sunset Date — the date on which a statutory 
provision will expire. 

 

Individual Project Capping 

 
Some states have sought to ease concerns about the costs 
of the credits to the state treasury by imposing caps on the 
dollar amount of credits that can be awarded to individual 
projects, while avoiding the pitfalls of annual aggregate caps. 
The effectiveness of the credits in providing incentives to 
developers is likely to be a function of how high the limit is 
set. Some states have experimented with project credits as 
high as $5 million per project (e.g., Connecticut and Maine). 
 
However, given the present state of the economy, and in 
particular the difficulty in obtaining financing for construction 
projects, it is difficult to assess the effectiveness of the 
incentives provided by credits limited in this fashion. Clearly, 
however, limits as low as that allowed under Colorado law, 
which is presently set at $50,000, are inadequate to provide 
an incentive for the rehabilitation of large commercial 
buildings. 
 
Transferability 

 
A state tax credit has value only to the extent that the credit 
holder has sufficient liability for state taxes that the credit can 
be used to offset. Although state tax rates vary, they are far 
lower than federal income tax rates. As a consequence, an 
apparently valuable state tax credit may wind up in the 
hands of a party unable to use it. There are several 
remedies to solve this problem, but many state statutes do 
not provide for them. 
 

What Makes a State Tax Credit Good? 
 
Eligible Buildings 

 
The scope of eligible buildings should include: 
 

1. Buildings individually listed in the National Register 
of Historic Places,  

2. Buildings located in historic districts listed in the 
National Register that contribute to the historic 
character of the district or in districts certified as 
eligible for listing,  

3. Individual buildings that have been locally 
designated as landmarks, and  

4. Buildings located in local historic districts that 
contribute to the historic character of the district. 

 
Standards for Rehabilitation 

 
The state should adopt the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation, as interpreted by the state 
historic preservation officer. 
 

Availability for Homeowners 

 
The credit should be available for owner-occupied residences as well as commercial property. This is particularly 
important because there is no federal credit for owner-occupied residences. 



 

 

The Current Fiscal Crisis 

The nationwide economic recession has 
produced serious adverse impacts on state 
budgets.  Unlike the federal government, as a 
general rule states are required by their 
constitutions to produce a balanced budget 
each year.  
 
On one hand, the recession has greatly 
reduced state revenues from taxes.  To meet 
these gaps, state legislators and budget 
officers have sought ways to cut spending and 
reduce draws on state treasuries, including 
draws resulting from the awards of state tax 
credits.  Not surprisingly, the states that are 
most vulnerable to attack on their historic tax 
credit programs are those that have had the 
most generous, and the most effective, tax 
credit laws such as Rhode Island and Missouri.  
The fiscal climate has also slowed efforts to 
enact tax credit laws in some states.   
 
Conversely, economic data shows that historic 
tax credits are highly effective at creating jobs 
and returning tax revenues to state treasuries. 
So some states, like Minnesota, are enacting or 
expanding these job-creating programs.   
 
In terms of timing, it generally takes between 
two to three years for large rehabilitation tax 
credit projects to be completed. Then it takes 
anywhere from 6 to 12 months for the 
certification to be completed and the tax credits 
to be used.  The lengthy, labor-intensive 
rehabilitation process allows states to offer an 
incentive that creates jobs and produces tax 
revenues now, when both are needed, and pay 
out the state investment years later when the 
credits are claimed in a stronger economy. 

 

Appropriate Rates 

 
The percentage rate of the credit should be fixed at a level high 
enough to constitute a meaningful incentive, typically in the range of 
20 percent to 30 percent of qualified rehabilitation expenditures. 
 
Rates that are significantly lower don’t provide enough incentive to 
make a difference in a developer’s decision to undertake a historic 
preservation project. As a negative example, Montana provides only 
a 5 percent tax credit for the rehabilitation of commercial structures 
when the federal 20 percent credit is used.  
 
Transferability 

 
As mentioned earlier, there needs to be a workable mechanism to 
put the credit in the hands of the party that can use it. States have 
solved this problem in one or more ways: 
 

1. The tax code may permit the party that earns the credit to 
sell it outright to a third party with adequate tax liability to 
use it. For example, Kansas, Kentucky, Oklahoma, and 
Missouri permit the taxpayer to sell or convey the tax credits 
in this manner.  

2. The code may permit a partnership that owns the property 
to make a disproportionate distribution of the credit, so that 
a local taxpayer can acquire the state tax credit while a 
national corporation not doing business in the state acquires 
the federal tax credit. Virginia, Kansas, and Delaware, for 
example, allow the credit to be passed through and 
allocated to partners or shareholders in this way.  

3. The code may allow a tax credit not fully usable in the 
current year to be carried back to offset taxes previously 
paid for prior tax years. This provision appears to be unique 
among the states to Missouri and West Virginia, although it 
is a feature of the federal program.  

4. The tax credit may be refundable, so that any amount not 
used to offset current-year taxes is paid in cash to the 
holder of the credit. Since homeowners earning credits are 
effectively precluded from using the more complex 
techniques for transferring credits, the most practical 
solutions for them are to allow the unused credit to be either 
refunded or sold outright. Maryland, Ohio, Iowa, and 
Louisiana provide a refundable tax credit, which is of 
particular value to lower-income homeowners. 

 
Annual Aggregate Caps 

 
Although state legislatures and their fiscal analysts prefer to keep a tight grip on the award of tax credits, those 
states that have resisted capping have had an economic advantage in attracting capital for historic preservation. 
 
Eligible Claimants 
 
In a number of states entities such as insurance companies, banks and public utilities are not taxed under the state 
corporate income tax law, but are subject to tax laws that are specific to their industries. Where this is the case, 
provision should be made to permit the credits to be used under these laws, so as to enable sales of tax credits to 
these companies. 
  



 
 
Geographic Distribution and Targeting 

 
In order to make sure that the benefits of the credit are felt in all parts of the state, some states have experimented 
with geographical set-asides for rural areas, or limits on the percentage of the credits that can be claimed for 
metropolitan areas. Another approach would limit the use of the credit to areas of physical deterioration and 
economic distress. These techniques should be evaluated with care to make sure that the limitations do not interfere 
with achieving the goals of the state’s historic rehabilitation program.  
 

State State State State SnapshotsSnapshotsSnapshotsSnapshots    

    
    

Arkansas 25% credit for certified rehabilitation of eligible income and non-income 
producing properties. Annual program cap of $4 million in credits; per-
project caps of $125,000 in credits for income-producing properties and 
$25,000 in credits for non-income producing properties. Min. 
expenditures: $25,000. Carry forward: 5 years. Freely transferable by 
either direct sale or disproportionate allocation among partners of a 
syndication partnership. Applications will be ranked in accordance with 
the following criteria:  Creation of new business, expansion of existing 
business, tourism, business revitalization, and neighborhood 
revitalization, in that order. Sunset date: 2021. 

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program 
501-324-9880 
www.arkansaspreservation.org/ 
 

Colorado 20% credit for income-producing and homeowner properties. No 
aggregate statewide dollar cap, but per project cap of $50,000 per year. 
Minimum investment: $5,000. Carry forward: 10 years. DOI standards 
apply and work must be completed within 2 years of inception date of 
project. CLG can review and approve project. In the event of project 
budget shortfall for any year, credit is deferred to next year in which 
shortfall is not projected. Sunset date:  2019. 

Colorado Historical Society 
303-866-3395 
www.coloradohistory-
oahp.org/programareas/itc/taxcredits.htm 



 

Connecticut 25% credit for converting historic commercial, industrial, former 
government property, cultural building, institutional, or mixed residential 
and non-residential property to mixed residential and non-residential 
uses or non-residential use (including commercial, institutional, 
governmental or manufacturing use). Credit is increased to 30% if (a) at 
least 20% of units created are affordable rental units, or (b) at least 10% 
of units created are affordable homeownership units.  Caps: $50 million 
over 3 years and $5 million per project. Carry forward: 5 years. Property 
must be listed individually on the national register or located in a district 
listed on the national or state register and certified as contributing.  
Freely transferable either by direct sale or disproportionate allocation 
among partners of a syndication partnership.  (Section 10-416-b) 
 
25% credit for converting commercial or industrial property for 
residential use only. Caps: $2.7 million per project and $15 million 
annual aggregate. Carry forward: 5 years. Freely transferable either by 
direct sale or disproportionate allocation among partners of a 
syndication partnership. Property must be listed individually on the 
national or state register or located in a district listed on the national or 
state register and certified as contributing. Minimum expenditure: 25% 
of assessed building value. Credit can offset income tax liability as well 
as taxes owed by insurance companies and utilities.  Section 10-416a. 
 
30% credit for eligible rehab of owner-occupied residence, including 
apartments up to 4 units. Eligible properties: National and/or State 
Register of Historic Places, must be located in areas targeted as 
distressed. Cap: $30,000 per dwelling, $3 million annual aggregate. 
Recapture period: 5 years. Carry forward: 4 years. Minimum 
expenditure: $25,000. Credit can be used only to offset corporate taxes. 
Corporations may qualify either by purchasing tax credits or loan 
principal reduction. 

Connecticut Historical Commission 
860-566-3005 
www.cultureandtourism.org/cct/taxonomy/ta
xonomy.asp?DLN=43543&cctNav=|43543 

Delaware 20% credit for income-producing properties and a 30% homeowner 
credit. A 10% bonus credit applies for both rental and owner-occupied 
projects that qualify as low-income housing. Carry forward: 10 years. 
Homeowner credit cannot exceed $20,000. Credits are freely 
transferable either by direct transfer or disproportionate allocation. 
Credits claimed in annual progress-based installments with phased 
projects. The maximum amount of credits in any fiscal year is $5 million 
of which $2 million is set aside for projects receiving under $300,000 in 
tax credits and $100,000 set aside for qualified resident curators. 
Sunset: 2020. 

Delaware State Historic Preservation Office 
302-739-5685 
www.history.delaware.gov/preservation/defa
ult.shtml 

Georgia 25% credit for certified historic properties, both owner-occupied 
residences and income-producing. Additional 5% credit for residence 
located in a HUD target area. Credit cap: $100,000 for an owner-
occupied historic home, and $300,000 for income-producing buildings, 
including residential rentals. Carry forward: 10 years. Transfer permitted 
by disproportionate allocation, or if property is sold and no part of credit 
taken. 

Georgia Historic Preservation Division 
404-656-2840 
www.gashpo.org 

Illinois ** 
 
** NOT a 
statewide 
program 

25% credit for eligible expenditures on rehabilitation of properties 
eligible for the federal Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit located in 
designated River Edge Redevelopment Zones approved by the state in 
portions of Aurora, East St. Louis, Elgin, Peoria and Rockford.   
Minimum investment: greater of $5,000 or 50% of the purchase price.   
DOI standards apply. Credits are transferrable by 
disproportionate allocation. No per project cap and no aggregate annual 
cap on dollar value of credits issuable.  

Illinois Historic Preservation Agency 
217-557-0513 
www.illinoishistory.gov  

Indiana 20% of rehab costs up to $100,000 for qualifying commercial, rental 
housing, barns and farm buildings. Minimum investment $10,000. Per-
project cap: $100,000. $450,000 annual statewide cap for commercial 
credits and $250,000 for owner-occupied residences. State register 
properties qualify. Carry forward: 15 years. Preapproval of work 
required. No fees. DOI standards apply. Owner-occupied residential: 
20% of rehab costs. Costs must exceed $10,000. 

Indiana Department of Natural Resources 
317-232-1646 
www.state.in.us/dnr/historic/2814.htm 

Iowa 25% credit for eligible commercial properties, owner-occupied State Historical Society of Iowa 



 

 
Iowa, cont. 

residential properties and barns. Annual cap: $45 million. Allocation of 
credits: 10% of credits for small projects; 30% for projects located in 
cultural and entertainment districts; 20% for disaster recovery projects; 
20% for projects that create more than 500 permanent new jobs, and 
10% for statewide projects. No project cap. Fully refundable with interest 
or carried forward 1 year. Minimum expenditure for commercial 
property:  50% of the assessed value of the commercial property, 
excluding the land. Minimum expenditure for owner-occupied residential 
or barn property:  the lesser of $25,000 or 25% of the assessed value, 
excluding the land. The project shall begin before the end of the fiscal 
year in which the Part 2 application was approved. The project must be 
completed within 60 months of the Part 2 approval. Credits in excess of 
min. established by Dept. of Revenue are fully transferable and all tax 
credits reserved for a fiscal year on and after July 1, 2012 may be 
transferred by disproportionate allocation.” 

Historic Preservation and Cultural and 
Entertainment District Tax Credit Program 
515-281-4137 
www.iowahistory.org/historic-
preservation/tax-incentives-for-
rehabilitation/index.html 

Kansas 25% income tax credit for commercial and owner-occupied residential 
properties. 30% income tax credit for nonprofits. Annual cap of $3.75 
million in credits claimed for FY2010. No per‐project cap. Carry forward: 
10 years. $5,000 minimum on qualified expenditures necessary. Credit 
freely transferable either by direct transfer or disproportionate allocation. 

Kansas State Historical Society 
785-272-8681 
www.kshs.org/resource/statetax.htm 

Kentucky 30% income tax credit for owner-occupied residential properties.  A 
minimum investment of $20,000 is required, with the total credit per 
project not to exceed $60,000. 
 
20% income tax credit for all other properties including properties owned 
by entities exempt from tax under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal 
Revenue Code and state and local governmental subdivisions and 
agencies. Minimum investment of $20,000 or adjusted basis, whichever 
is greater, subject to $400,000 per project cap. 
 
Both credits are fully refundable or transferable, but disproportionate 
allocation is prohibited.  $5 million annual program cap applies to the 
aggregate of homeowner and commercial/nonprofit credits. All credits 
are subject to proportional reduction if the value of credits claimed 
exceeds the annual aggregate cap. 

Kentucky Heritage Council 
502-564-7005 
www.heritage.ky.gov/incentives/ 

Louisiana 25% credit for income-producing properties in “downtown development 
districts.” $5 million cap per taxpayer for structures within a downtown 
development district. No statewide cap for commercial credits. Minimum 
investment: $10,000. Directly transferable. 5 year carry-forward for 
commercial credits. Sunset date: Jan. 1, 2016. 
 
After July 1, 2011, 25% rate for owner-occupied residences; 50% credit 
for blighted homes over fifty years old. $1 million statewide cap for 
owner-occupied residences. Minimum investment: $10,000. Homeowner 
credit must be taken in five equal annual installments and is fully 
refundable.  Sunset date: Jan. 1, 2016.  

Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation 
& Tourism 
225-342-8160 
www.crt.state.la.us/hp/taxincentives.aspx 

 

Maine 25% credit for qualifying rehab expenses of certified historic structure. 
30% credit where at least 33% of the aggregate square feet of the 
completed project creates new affordable housing. Affordable housing 
credit may be increased each tax year by 1% till reached maximum of 
35% in 2013. Minimum expenditures: Same as federal tax credit. If 
federal credit is not claimed, min. expenditure is $50,000 and maximum 
is $250,000. Cap: $5 million per project cap; no annual statewide cap. 
Credits are fully refundable and freely transferable by disproportionate 
allocation. Credit must be taken in 4 equal installments with first year 
being year property is placed into service.  Sunset date: Dec. 31, 2023. 

Maine Historic Preservation Commission 
207-287-2132 
www.maine.gov/mhpc/tax_incentives/index.
html 

Maryland 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

20% credit for commercial buildings and owner-occupied residences; 
additional 5% credit for high performance commercial buildings that 
achieve LEED gold rating or comparable rating from another rating 
system; 10% credit for non-historic, "qualified rehabilitated structures," 
commercial properties located in Main Street Maryland community and 
after 2012 in a designated "sustainable" community.  Annual 
appropriation required for commercial side of program; unused amounts 
may be carried over to following year.  Per-project cap: commercial - $3 

Maryland Historical Trust 
410-514-7628 
www.marylandhistoricaltrust.net/taxcr.html 



 

Maryland, cont. million; owner-occupied - $50,000. Competitive award process for 
commercial properties.  No more than 75% of funds available for 
commercial projects in any year may go to any single jurisdiction. 
Minimum investment: the greater of 100% of the adjusted basis or 
$25,000 for commercial properties; $5,000 for owner occupied 
properties. Fully refundable. Program sunsets in 2014. 

Massachusetts 20% credit for eligible income-producing properties. 25% credit for 
projects with affordable housing. $50 million annual statewide cap. 
Carry forward: 5 years. DOI standards apply. Permits direct transfer of 
credit or transfer by disproportionate allocation. Min. investment: 25% of 
adjusted basis. Funded through 2017. 

Massachusetts Historical Commission 
617-727-8470 
www.sec.state.ma.us/mhc/mhctax/taxidx.ht
m 

Minnesota Credit equal to 100% of the federal credit allowed for the rehabilitation of 
a certified historic commercial property against taxes or grant equal to 
90% of federal credit allowed. No annual program cap and no per-
project cap. Credit freely transferable either by direct transfer or 
disproportionate allocation. Credit is fully refundable. Credit may be 
used by insurance companies as well as other corporations and 
individuals.  Application must be made for the credit before the 
rehabilitation begins. Program starts May 1, 2010 and sunsets in Fiscal 
Year 2015. 

State Historic Preservation Office, 
Minnesota Historical Society 
651-259-3000 
www.mnhs.org/shpo/grants/index.htm 

Mississippi 25% credit for commercial property and for owner-occupied residences. 
Program is capped at $60 million. Minimum investment of 50% of the 
total basis for commercial properties; $5,000 for owner-occupied 
residences. Carry forward: 10 years. If credit exceeds $250,000, 75% 
can be refunded in lieu of 10 year carry-forward. Refunds must be taken 
in two equal installments starting the year the rehabilitated property is 
placed in service. Transfer permitted by disproportionate allocation but 
can not be used in conjunction with refund provision. Sunset date: 2014. 

Division of Historic Preservation, Mississippi 
Department of Archives and History 
601-576-6940 
www.mdah.state.ms.us/hpres/prestaxincent.
html 

Missouri 25% credit for commercial and owner‐occupied residential properties 

listed in National Register or listed as contributing to a federally certified 
historic district.  Rehab work must meet DOI standards. Qualified 
expenditures must exceed 50% of total basis of the property. Carry 
back: 3 years. Carry forward: 10 years. Transfer permitted by direct 

transfer or disproportionate allocation. Per-project cap for owner-
occupied single-family residences: $250,000 in credits.  Beginning July 
1, 2010, the Dept. of Economic Development can not approve more 
applications than would in the aggregate result in more than $140 
million in credits. Any project receiving preliminary approval after Jan. 1, 

2010, whose eligible costs would be more than $1.1 million, is subject to 
the cap. Projects with eligible costs less than $1,100,000 are not subject 
to cap. Projects subject to the cap are prioritized on first-come first serve 
basis; where applications received on same day, lottery will be held.  

Unfunded projects carry over into next funding round. Requires rehab to 
start within 2 years of authorization. Credits must be issued within 12 
months of rehab completion.  

Missouri Historic Preservation Program 
573-751-7858 
www.dnr.mo.gov/shpo/TaxCrdts.htm 

Montana Income-producing certified historic properties automatically receive 5% 
state tax credit if the property qualifies for the 20% federal credit. Carry 
forward: 7 years. 

Montana State Historic Office 
406-444-7715 
www.his.state.mt.us/shpo/istarch.asp 

New Mexico 50% of rehab costs for all properties listed in the State Register of 
Cultural Properties. Also applies to stabilization and protection of 
archeological sites listed in the State Register of Cultural Properties. No 
annual statewide cap. Per-project cap: $25,000 outside an Arts and 
Cultural District; $50,000 located within an Arts and Cultural District. DOI 
standards apply. Carry forward: 4 years. Pre-approval required. 

New Mexico Historic Preservation Division 
505-827-6320 
www.nmhistoricpreservation.org/PROGRAM
S/creditsloans_taxcredits.html 

New York 
 
 
 
 

20% credit for certified commercial properties located in 1) a census 
tract with a median income at or below the State Family Median Income 
level, 2) a Qualified Census Tract (QCT) Section 143 (J) of the Internal 
Revenue Code, or 3) in a state Area of Chronic Economic Distress. Per 
project cap: $5 million in credits.  Must be used in conjunction 

New York State Historic Preservation Office 
518-237-8643 
www.nysparks.state.ny.us/shpo/investment/i
ndex.htm 



 

 
New York, cont. 

with federal credit. Credit must be taken in the year building is placed 
into service. Carry forward: unlimited. 
20% credit for certified, owner-occupied properties.  Subject to the same 
census tract restrictions as commercial program.  Residential per project 
cap: $50,000 in credits.  If taxpayer’s adjusted gross income is under 
$60,000, homeowner credit is refundable; over $60,000, unlimited carry 
forward.  Minimum expenditure: $5,000 and 5% must be spent on 
exterior work. Both programs sunset on Dec. 31, 2014; program will 
default to 2007 program features.  25% rehab credit for historic barns. 
Must be income‐producing, built or placed in agricultural service before 
1936 and rehab cannot “materially alter the historic appearance.” Under 
the 2010-2011 state budget, state rehabilitation credits earned between 
2010 – 2013 over $2 million in value are deferred for payout between 
2013 and 2015. 

North Carolina 30% credit for historic homeowners and 20% for income-producing 
properties. Minimum investment for 30% credit: $25,000. Credit must be 
taken in 5 equal annual installments. Minimum investment for 
commercial: Same as federal credit. Cannot be used in conjunction with 
tax credit for rehabilitating mills. 30% or 40%, depending on location, 
credit for rehabilitating income-producing and non-income-producing 
historic mill properties. Pre-approval required. Certified property must 
have been at least 80% vacant for a period of two years immediately 
preceding date of eligibility certificate. Cannot be taken in conjunction 
with 20% state tax historic preservation credit for income-producing 
properties. 

North Carolina Historic Preservation Office 
919-733-4763 
www.hpo.dcr.state.nc.us/tchome.htm 

North Dakota 25% credit for eligible historic property that is part of a renaissance zone 
project. Project cap of $250,000. Carry forward: 5 years. 

State Historical Society of North Dakota 
701-328-2666 
www.nd.gov/tax/genpubs/renaissance.pdf 

Ohio 25% credit for owners and long-term qualified lessees of certified 
historic building. Project cap: $5 million.  Aggregate cap: $60 million 
annually and any unused amount will be carried forward and added to 
the next year. DOI Standards for Rehabilitation apply. Refundable 
amount of credit limited to $3 million per project. Transfer by 
disproportionate allocation permitted. Five year carry-forward. Applicant 
must provide evidence that the credit is a major factor in the applicant’s 
decision to rehab. Applicant must have CPA certify costs if qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures exceed $200,000. If the applicant does not 
provide evidence of having a viable financing plan, having final 
construction drawings and all necessary historical approvals within 12 
months of receiving notice of approval, or if the applicant has not closed 
on financing within 18 months after approval, the director may rescind 
the approval and reallocate the credit amount to another applicant.  
Director of Economic Development must conduct a cost-benefit analysis 
of every project that shows whether the project will result in a net 
revenue gain in state and local taxes.  Also, Director of Development 
and Tax Commissioner, with the assistance of an outside economic 
research organization, must produce an annual report to the legislature 
analyzing program’s effectiveness. 

Ohio Historic Preservation Office 
614-298-2000 
www.ohiohistory.org/resource/histpres/yourt
own/tax/ 

Oklahoma 20% income tax credit for all eligible commercial and rental residential 
properties that qualify for the federal tax credit. Minimum investment: 
same as federal credit. No statewide or per-project caps. Carry forward: 
10 years. Freely transferable for 5 years. Credits can be claimed starting 
on Jan. 1, 2012.   

Oklahoma State Historic Preservation Office 
405-522-4484 
www.okhistory.org/shpo/taxcredits.htm 

Pennsylvania Effective July 1, 2012, 25% credit for eligible properties that qualify for 
the federal tax credit. Minimum investment same as for the federal 
credit. Project cap: $500,000.  Aggregate cap: $3 million annually. 
Projects to be allocated equitably among state’s regions. Any unused 
amount from a region will be reallocated to another region. DOI 
Standards for Rehabilitation apply. Public utilities, insurance companies 
and financial institutions may participate in the program. Applications 
must be filed by Feb. 1, 2013, but may cover expenditures previously 
made. Carry forward: 7 years. Credits are transferable by certificate 
only. Sunset: 2019 

Pennsylvania Historical & Museum 
Commission 
717-783-6012 
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/
community/rehabilitation_investment_tax_cr
edit_program/2646  



 

South 
Carolina 

10% credit for commercial properties eligible for federal credit; 25% for 
other eligible properties. Minimum investment for non-commercial 
properties: $15,000. All credits must be taken in 5 equal annual 
installments. No statewide or per-project dollar caps. Pass-through 
entities (other than “S” corporations) may transfer credit by means of 
disproportionate allocation. Credits for owner-occupied residences 
limited to one per structure each 10 years. Pre-approval required. 

South Carolina Department of Archives and 
History 
803-896-6100 
www.state.sc.us/scdah/hpfinancialinc.htm 

Utah 20% credit for residential owner-occupied and non-owner-occupied. 
Cap: none. Minimum investment: $10,000 over 3 years. DOI standards 
apply. No fees. 

Utah State Historical Society 
801-533-3500 
www.history.utah.gov/historic_buildings/finan
cial_assistance/state_tax_credit.html 

Vermont All credits limited to commercial buildings located in designated 
downtowns or village centers. 10% credit for projects approved for 
federal credit. 25% credit for façade improvement projects, limited to 
$25,000 per project. 50% credit for certain code improvement projects, 
with maximum credit of $50,000. 9-year carry-forward. Credits may be 
transferred to bank in exchange for cash or interest rate reduction. 
Annual total program cap: $1.5 million. The state board may allocate the 
credit upon completion of distinct phases of a qualified project and any 
recaptured or rescinded credits can be awarded to other applicants in 
subsequent years.  

Vermont Division for Historic Preservation 
802-828-3211 
www.historicvermont.org/financial/credits.ht
ml 

Virginia 25% for commercial and owner-occupied residential properties. 
Reconstruction and improvements must amount to at least 25% of the 
assessed value for owner-occupied buildings and at least 50% for non-
owner-occupied buildings. Carry forward: 10 years. National and state 
register properties eligible. DOI standards apply. No caps. Transfer by 
disproportionate allocation permitted. 

Virginia Department of Historic Resources 
804-367-2323 
www.dhr.virginia.gov/tax_credits/tax_credit.h
tm 

West Virginia 10% credit for buildings eligible for federal credit; 20% credit for eligible 
owner-occupied residences. Commercial buildings entitled to same 
carry-back and carry-forward provisions as are available for federal 
credit. Owner-occupied residences entitled to 5-year carry forward. Both 
commercial credits and homeowner credits may be directly transferred 
or transferred by disproportionate allocation. Minimum investment in 
homeownership projects: 20% of assessed value. No statewide or per 
project dollar caps. 

West Virginia Historic Preservation Office 
304-558-0220 
www.wvculture.org/shpo/tcresoverview.html 

Wisconsin 25% credit for owner-occupied residential properties. Per-project cap: 
$10,000. Minimum investment: $10,000 over 2 years; extendable to 5 
years. 5% credit for commercial properties, not subject to statewide or 
per-project caps. Minimum investment: expenses equal to building’s 
adjusted basis. 

State Historical Society of Wisconsin 
608-264-6490 
www.wisconsinhistory.org/hp/architecture/ind
ex.asp 
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About the National Trust for Historic Preservation 
 
Harry K. Schwartz is a consultant to the National Trust for Historic Preservation on state tax incentives.  
 

Renee Kuhlman directs special projects in the Government Affairs and Public Policy Department of the National 
Trust for Historic Preservation.  
 

For more information about state tax credits for historic preservation and a list of useful state contacts, please visit 
www.preservationnation.org/take-action/advocacy-center/additional-resources/historic-tax-credit-maps/state-
rehabilitation-tax.html. For technical assistance, please contact us at policy@nthp.org. 
 

The National Trust is a privately-funded nonprofit organization chartered by Congress in 1949. We work to 
save America’s historic places to enrich our future. With headquarters in Washington, D.C., 12 field 
offices, 27 historic sites, and partner organizations in 50 states, territories, and the District of Columbia, 
the National Trust protects significant historic sites and advocates for historic preservation as a 
fundamental value in programs and policies at all levels of government. 


