Historical Landmark

One-quarter mile north of Carson Creek, a tributary of Agua Fria Creek, was located the town of Agua Fria, in 1850-51 the first county seat of Mariposa County. One of the original 27 counties in California, Mariposa County comprised one-sixth of the state-all of what is now Merced, Madera, Fresno, Tulare, Kings, and Kern Counties-until 1852, while mining was the main industry of region. The town of Mariposa became the seat of government in 1852, and the courthouse there was completed in 1854.

Registration Date: 4/26/1954

City: Mariposa
County: Mariposa

4189 State Hwy 140 (P.M. 172), 3.2 mi W of Mariposa

Back   Return to Listed Resources Listing